September 8, 2022 11AM PT | 1PM CT | 2PM ET

How to specify HVAC motors, drives to meet energy goals

Building owners say that reducing energy consumption in HVAC applications is important, but it’s often a challenge. Here’s how to specify motors and drives to achieve energy efficiency.

ATTENDEES QUALIFY FOR A CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETION.

Mechanical engineers are often tasked with updating or retrofitting existing buildings, including the HVAC systems. Effectively specifying an enhanced motor or drive can be a challenge, especially when the building owner does not understand the benefits. Updating motors and drives in HVAC systems can lead to several improvements, which save building owners money and energy over the life of the system.

 

There are three key reasons to upgrade motors and drives in HVAC applications:

  • Replace aging equipment.
  • Meet energy efficiency and sustainability goals.
  • Minimize maintenance issues.

 

While the reasons may be obvious, the how-to and payback may not be. This education session will review new, energy-efficient motor and drive technologies and teach engineers to calculate payback to help them with conversations with building owners and facility managers. Case studies and other examples will be used to demonstrate results.


Learning objectives:

  • Understand the benefits of updating or replacing aging HVAC equipment, specifically motors and drives.
  • Learn how to help achieve energy efficiency/sustainability goals.
  • Acquire information to help building owners and facility managers overcome problematic maintenance issues in their motors and drives.
  • Review payback calculations for specifying updated motors and drives.

Presented By:
Paul L. Bartunek, III, Vice President, Global HVAC Segment, ABB Drives
Bevan Christiansen, Segment Manager, Global HVAC Segment, ABB NEMA Motors

Moderated By:
Amara Rozgus, Content Manager, CFE Media and Technology

Meet Our Sponsors